State of the game – Diablo 4 Season 2 – Episode 1

Originally published at: State of the game – Diablo 4 – Episode 1 – Alphagamer

Diablo 4 has received a lot of attention and (mostly negative) coverage since the launch in June of this year. I started playing the game before launch as I had pre-purchased the game and I will use these “State of the game” episodes to give my views on how much fun it is to currently play Diablo 4 covering the different updates and seasons.

During the last 5 months the intensity of me playing this game has fluctuated significantly, as I think it did for most players. I created a Druid and played a lot during launch. I was able to level my character to 91 when Season 1 started (without using level or build guides…). During Season 1 I created a Rogue and lost interest in playing quickly. I was just not captivated by the seasonal storyline and seasonal game mechanics. Especially the game mechanics were demotivating, slow and clunky, to a point I didn’t even reach level 100 and stopped play altogether for about 2 months.

At the start of Season 2 on October 17th, I decided to give it another go. I decided to make a Necromancer, a class I never really played in the previous Diablo games. I was able to hit level 100 within 2 weeks of season 1. So what changed compared to Season 1 and the Eternal realm (base game)?

The “Good”

• Speed to level up to maximum level

• Storyline is captivating introducing a new boss

• Introduction of a new zone, the Blood Harvest

• Ability to target farm bosses and class specific unique items

• Mid seasonal updates and new content

The “Not So Great”

• Limited amount class specific uniques

• Enchant ability only limited to 1 stat

• No crafting of any sorts

• No gear sets

• Strong focus on intake micro transactions

A closer look at the “Good”

Let’s first have a closer look at the “Good”, specifically focussing on the seasonal changes.